M.I.A. "Born Free" MP3

M.I.A.

I will admit I was never a big fan of M.I.A. But I can also admit I have some respect for the art and political driven fusion she’s interlaced in her music. The beats were good enough in her singles like “Paper Planes” and “Galang” that I could avoid focusing on the political nature of her lyrics. I am not a political person. But a few years later M.I.A. has started to work on a new album and dropped a new single single titled “Born Free” a few days ago. Prior to releasing the single M.I.A. publicly trashed certain pop artists of today such as Lady Gaga, Ke$sha, Uffie and etc. Claiming that their “weirdness” is not authentic. She claims that these artists are cheap imitations. Why does she need to do this? I am not sure. Maybe she felt that she’s lost some of the limelight she garnered and needed to do so in order for people to react to her. In that aspect I’ve lost a little respect.  Why is it an artist such as herself needs to insult others who have varying degrees and purposes for what they do.  M.I.A. has her own agenda.  Let others have theirs.  Some quotes can be read via Stereogum.

Now back to her track “Born Free.”  In my honest opinion feel the track is forced.  The loud background of static noise fronted by “talk” -style singing is boring and not experimental.  Sure, a lot of people have commented that this is “brilliant.”  I don’t even agree with comments that state it’s not the “direction” that fits her.  But when you listen to the track, what direction is there really?  Maybe I am a purist when it comes to pop music and am biased towards a structure of sorts, melody, hook and a catch.  This track does not have any of those.  This could just be a reaction to the comparisons she’s received to current pop artists.  This sounds more like Sleigh Bells which she coincidentally signed to her NEET Recordings imprint.

Her new yet-untitled album will be released June 29th, 2010.  I am hoping that this not the lead single.

MP3:Born Free

WEBSITEFACEBOOKMYSPACETWITTERAMAZONLABEL

5 Responses to “M.I.A. "Born Free" MP3”


  1. 1 dzu shofi April 25, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    wow, it’s like true..
    nice, I like your posts ..
    very good to readers 😀

  2. 2 ... May 3, 2010 at 4:00 am

    wow, it’s like u have an opinion, but don’t know what ur talking about…
    food for thought though: you force the critical reader to form their own opinions, deviant from yours 😉
    readers beware!

  3. 3 Gisel May 14, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    I like your Blog, much great wordpress blog. I probably make a bookmark from my site.

  4. 4 Gewinnspiele May 16, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    greetings
    i’m so glad that i found this page. that topic was so nice. thanks again i saved this blog.
    are you going to post similar articles?


  1. 1 What's the difference between Hard drive players and Flash players? Trackback on April 26, 2010 at 5:21 am

Leave a Reply

About

Twentyseven Views is primarily a music blog (although sometimes I will do the random post on a film or something culture or art related). All posts are genuine and honest opinions by the writer.

The writer is based in New York and has run a small indie record label, was a former publicist and has done freelance publicity. The writer has penchant taste in music that lean towards pop. Whether that be indie pop, dance music or hip-hop.

MP3s are used to help promote the artists and musicians. Please buy their art!

If you have any questions regarding any posts please feel free to contact the writer.

Contact

Please feel free to contact me at twentysevenviews(at)gmail.com.

Weekly Top Listens

Twitter Updates


