PASSION PIT “The Reeling” MP3

PASSION PIT

Where was I when all of this was happening?  I’m not sure, maybe I was being a Sleepyhead (pardon the pun). But I just did not catch on to the h ype and the buzz that Passion Pit were building up.  Hell, I missed them at CMJ when everyone was trying to see them, I missed their last show in NYC at a small venue before the new year and I missed them once again at SXSW.  For some odd reason, I still wasn’t enticed to see them live.  Am I really that out of the loop?  Am I not cool any more?  Was I even ever cool?

Either way, just like the MGMT route the band are now on Columbia Records in the UK while sticking to their indie cred with Frenchkiss in the United States.

I admit that “Sleepyhead” was indeed a “fun” little spazztic jam.  It’s the type of song that exuberates enough youthful joy to resonate with any demographic.  Almost.  But the rest ofChunk of Change didn’t do it for me.

And now with their upcoming single “The Reeling” I had some reservations. With the single running over 4 minutes, I thought that the yelping schtick over zany beats would just be to cliche and repetitive for my tastes.  But after a few more listens, the melodies and hooks did reel me in.  But did they really need to hire a chorus of little children to help out in about 4 second parts of the song?  Who knows.  It did work though.

Their debut full-length Manners is out May 19th.

MP3: “The Reeling

WEBSITEFACEBOOKMYSPACETWITTERPURCHASELABEL

 

0 Responses to “PASSION PIT “The Reeling” MP3”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

Twentyseven Views is primarily a music blog (although sometimes I will do the random post on a film or something culture or art related). All posts are genuine and honest opinions by the writer.

The writer is based in New York and has run a small indie record label, was a former publicist and has done freelance publicity. The writer has penchant taste in music that lean towards pop. Whether that be indie pop, dance music or hip-hop.

MP3s are used to help promote the artists and musicians. Please buy their art!

If you have any questions regarding any posts please feel free to contact the writer.

Contact

Please feel free to contact me at twentysevenviews(at)gmail.com.

Weekly Top Listens

Twitter Updates


